top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmaiguri

For Thuille—World Letter 58

To all the Dearest,

And this concludes the revisions to the Demon Arc! I only realized now that it is missing the scene where Ymver realizes that Arlasaire is like his child and he connects with Gevyna's mother over this. It's like a parallel to what is ABOUT to happen. And also, all this definitely wasn't as heavily line edited as I had thought when I promised to post it but... nothing is perfect. And more revisions could come in the future! There! Haha!


Thank you for much for reading this arc! I put a lot of heart and soul into making this. I hope that you could feel it on your end too!

 

(Arlasaire) I only stopped to catch my breath when I got to the door to the throne room. The scorpion-bodied Demons chittered at me softly. Mocking? Or asking if I was okay? I shook my head. I couldn't understand. I pushed in to find their King.


Enharr lounged on his raised dais, surrounded by his silks and consorts and his other sister -- Gevyna. She was smiling. Of course she was. She was winning. I swallowed and raised my voice to meet him.

  • Ar: Enharr! The Crimson Prince is assaulting your sister.

The royals were up in a moment. And Enharr bound from the room with three others with living blades for tails and cloven hooves. Rustling and noise rolled through the rest of the room. But Gevyna hushed it with a hand.

  • Ge: Enharr will handle it. Thank you, sweetling.

She lowered herself from the dais. And approached. Prowling. I swallowed. Her eyes held me there. Soon, she was in arm's reach. A whisper wouldn't reach the rest of the Court at the edge of the room.

And whisper she did. Eyes glowing like coals.

  • Ge: So, you think I made Ymver disappear...

  • Ar: I know you made Ymver disappear.

  • Ge: I'll come clean if you do, cutie.

I searched for what that meant. But I didn't know. She leaned closer. Her forehead pressing to mine. I tensed.

  • Ge: I know you're working with the Aftokratoria. Senator Diacaius, the Head of the Northern, is staying in your Manor.

  • Ar: What? No! Th--

My hands shook. They'd have stilled if I could have killed her.

  • Ar: That's not--!

  • Ge: Don't bother, sweetling. I can hear your heart pound. You're lying.

She tilted my eyes up to meet hers. I tried to control my breathing. My gaze. I was frozen.

  • Ge: Well?

My head swam. No words formed.

  • Ar: I-It's not like that!

  • Ge: Then what is it like? Why are you so afraid?

  • Ar: Y-You're accusing me of lying!

  • Ge: If you tell the truth, you have nothing to fear, sweetling. We can tell when humans lie.

  • Ar: I-I'm not working with Senator Diacaius! I would never work with him!

My voice crackled. Growling. Breaking. The Court whispered at that. But she only smiled. She reached towards my neck. I smacked it away. Blades out.

  • Ar: D-Don't touch me!

  • Ge: I see you don't want me to listen to your heart.

  • Ar: I-- You don't-- I--

My skin crawled. Ablaze. I had nothing I could say that she would think is true. I was too on edge now. And if I tried to calm myself on purpose, she'd know that too. Bitch. Fuck. Leave me alone!


The doors opened once again and Enharr returned with Astaroh cradled close. I resheathed my blade before he could see. Turning away. Gevyna mercifully swept off to baby her half-sister.

  • Ge: What'd you do?

  • En: Valeforr is sleeping with his salamanders tonight.

Good. As he deserved. Poor Astaroh had steaming lacerations all over her silvery form. Healing. But still: he'd put them there. I shouldn't have left her... Enharr let Gevyna kiss the wounds better. Closing them up with magic of her own. At least Astaroh would be alright.

  • En: Arlasaire, I remain in your debt -- you continue to prioritize my sister's needs and for that, I am grateful.

  • Ar: ...Then I need you to listen to me.

He frowned.

  • En: You seem unwell. Talk to me. What's happening?

I swallowed. I wasn't even a Demon and I could see how close this part of the family was. They would do anything for each other... but... "the truth"...

  • Ar: ...Princess Gevyna took Ymver.

He exhaled slowly and straightened up. Taking Astaroh back from Gevyna's hands. Marching back to the dais.

  • En: Well Gevyna? You stand accused of ferrying off one of my allies and a key foreign diplomat. What do you have to say for yourself?

Her eyes raked over him. Tail coiling. He held her gaze.

  • Ge: Fine. I didn't want to say anything until I was more certain -- I know how much you respect House d'Magnia and I know how much Astaroh likes her...

She dared to put a foot on a lowest step of the dais. He waited.

  • Ge: Let me assure you I hid him away for good reason: Arlasaire is a traitor. She has turned against the North. And if he works for her, then he's a traitor too.

The ground fell away below me. It was happening. It was actually happening. His posture didn't change. He believed it.

  • En: ...Oh?

  • Ge: While you were gone, we confirmed she's allowing the Senator who is conquering the North to stay in her Manor. And secondly, Giluniques d'Magnia helped in the Destruction of Togen Oyer -- I have heard it both from my sources and Valeforr heard it from Arlasaire just now.

I could only stare at me feet as the accusations came. I had nothing.

  • En: ...So it would seem. But what is the central concern here?

  • Ge: ...She's an assassin, Enharr. House d'Magnia is a family of killers. She probably killed Father too.

Wrong. It was all wrong. They were twisting it. I wasn't! But if I said anything, it'd be used against me too.

  • Ar: I did not kill him. Enharr, you KNOW I didn't kill him!

  • En: ...I don't know that I do.

No. No. How did he believe that? He straightened up, holding Astaroh closer. That wasn't true. And he knew. He KNEW it wasn't true. And Astaroh knew it wasn't true.

  • Ar: Astaroh, you... please...

She curled into her brother's arms. Whimpering.

  • Ar: Astaroh, tell them! Just tell everyone what you know!

But she didn't. I set my jaw. Of course. She was just going to pass the blame to me. Protect her family. Let me take the fall.


Wouldn't Gil have done the same?


...No. And I knew that. Gil was selfish. And I couldn't be.

Enharr glowered at me.

  • En: Do not beg my sister for help. You've been leading her on this whole time-- the whole Demon Court already knows you refused to bed her. And I don't care for pathetic begging.

I shuddered.

  • En: So? What do you have to say for yourself?

Nothing. There was nothing! There...


There was something. Astaroh already knew the worst of it. Gil's legacy was already gone here. Gil was gone. But I knew. I knew what had happened here. I took a deep breath. I met his glowing, crimson eyes.


Fine. I'd do it myself.

  • Ar: Princess Gevyna, I didn't kill the Demon King... because Enharr did. And Astaroh watched.

My head slammed back into the hot stone floor. On my back. The pain rang through my skull. But Gevyna stood between me and sizzling, crimson wreckage from a spell -- blocked by her own magic. I crawled to my hands in knees as she stood between Enharr and I.

  • Ge: You fucking--

  • En: Don't defend her, Gev. Your points stand. She could very well be a tr--

  • Ge: You BASTARD! You're the fucking traitor! You killed...

Tears poured down her snarling, bared fangs.

  • Ge: I'LL KILL YOU!

  • As: Gevyna, please--!

But it was too little. He tossed her aside. And Gevyna and Enharr launched at each other -- alight in crimson flames. Demons scattered from the hall as the heat cascaded over the walls. I followed them out. Head spinning still.


I ducked off the path and collapsed to all fours in the coal-black grass. Cool. Damp. I pressed my pounding head against it. Breathing. Astaroh and I... it was never meant to be. And then everything else... Gil... This was a mess. This was MY mess. And we would all die if I didn't sort it out.


But... I lived. I lived for now.


A cold tap on my shoulder. I jumped and whirled to my knees. But the demoness beside me now had kind eyes. She spoke in an accented Thuillean and had violet hair, like Gevyna's.

  • ???: My daughter has imprinted her wishes for me to take you to your Ymver. Please, come this way.

And in a single bound, she became a mountain lion with a spined back -- something I would have handholds on. She lowered herself. I blinked. This was so much.

  • Ar: Th-thank you... i-is he alright?

  • ???: Gevyna was fond of him. And he has been kind to me. So please... For his sake, let's get you out of here.

I stepped up to the Demoness and mounted myself amongst the spikes. I had to get Ymver to safety. Nraga would have to navigate herself out.


The wind was thoroughly gone from my sails by the time we reached the stone condominium with iron ribbing holding up the tiered roofs. And when the door slid open and he was there, waves of exhaustion crashed over me.

But there he was.


Ymver rushed over to me. He was fine. He looked well. His room was full of silk cushions and fine cutlery. He even had his Kantele. He hugged me and his fluffy beard got in my face. The studs of his apron dug in. But I knew he had just been kidnapped. So I let him. As I tried to step back though, I nearly fell.

  • Ym: Whoa, kiddo!

He steadied me. I said nothing. Resting my voice at last. I just smiled up at him, sheepishly.

  • Ym: Gods, your clothes are so nice but you're so pale... did you get bit?

He moved my hair to check my neck but I shook my head. I was fine. He sighed.

  • Ym: You need to get out of here. Princess Gevyna really has it out for you.

  • Ar: I know.

  • Ym: Then let's get out of here.

I wanted to. I really did. More than anything...

But I realized, touching his leather apron... Hearing his voice... Feeling the callouses on his familiar hands... I couldn't. I had forgotten what I was doing all this for. But touching him... it was real now. This was real. This was Thuille.

  • Ar: I can't yet.

  • Ym: What? Why not?

  • Ar: I have to get the Demons to join us. But you need to leave. Help Riavh navigate the Court. You're good at that.

  • Ym: Arlasaire, you are exhausted. Look at yourself!

  • Ar: We need the Demons to help us in the siege. Thuille needs the Demons!

He grabbed my shoulders. Chestnut eyes piercing mine.

  • Ym: Fuck Thuille! Stop trying to be a hero! That's just stupid!

  • Ar: ...I know. But...

...it wasn't just him. It wasn't just for "Thuille."

  • Ar: This is for Riavh.

And maybe, it was for me too. Ymver sighed and pulled me into a tight hug.

  • Ym: Gods, you're so difficult sometimes...

I pat him on the back and he released me slowly. I turned to Gevyna's mother.

  • Ar: Please, can you get him to his ship? And Ymver, send a message to my House to leave me here if I don't return in another two days. But Nraga and I will handle things from here.

  • Ym: I will, for your peace of mind. Just don't need to be saved.

I raised an eyebrow. He was being strangely clingy. And I couldn't categorize the look he was giving me. But it was a little nice.


I turned to head back to Obsidian Pavilion. On my own two feet this time.

  • Ym: Hey kiddo...

  • Ar: Hm?

  • Ym: ...Nothing. Just take care of yourself.

  • Ar: I will.

But I lied.


I didn't even make it back inside before I was poisoned and arrested. Arrested was better than dead. Nraga could get me out of "arrested". Maybe.


If they executed me, I would die by my own choices. At least I would die as me.

26 views0 comments
bottom of page