top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmaiguri

It Can't Be Left Behind—World Letter 56

To all the Dearest,

This one is certainly a shorter one -- but that's largely because it got cut up a lot in development editing. I think it's okay to have chapters of different lengths but I'm not sure if this one it well-suited to it. But no matter! Here we are now!

 

(Arlasaire) The wind and Ymver's disappearance churned in the cold outside but Astaroh was warm. We lay hand-in-hand. Our foreheads touching.

  • As: I don't know if I ever told you this... When you brought me here from Telethens, there was an Inquisitor boy I left behind.

  • Ar: Mmm?

  • As: He was my first... But most the Inquisitors didn't like me very much.

She squeezed. The pressure matched her breath.

  • As: Apparently, I was drinking my mother's blood from a really young age. And they took me away from her. But she was kind, I remember. And she didn't mind--I could feel it in her blood. My siblings can sense lots of things through their blood magic. I just feel feelings... I felt she wanted me to live. She didn't want me to suffer because of my Father's actions. I think about that a lot.

  • As: What about you? And your mother?

  • Ar: I don't remember her very well...

Once, I'd "climbed" up a tilted tree. But I wasn't strong enough to reach even the lowest branch. And I ran too high to jump down on my own. I just burst into tears. She came and took me down.


Another time, I declared I was going to marry a boy I'd met in the hills outside of town. My mother had to tell me I would never see him again. He was the son of a noble. He'd run away. But they'd found him.


I remembered the last time. The Dragonstorm raged above. She told me to hide in the cellar and she'd get me out when it was over.

  • Ar: ...Guess it'll never be over.

  • As: ...I'm sorry...

She squeezed. I could feel the tingling warmth of her bloodmagic, seeking to sooth me. Emanating from her body. I let it. For once, I let the pain fade a little.

  • As: Does it hurt still? Can you feel anything with your right arm?

  • Ar: It's less sensitive, but everything it senses is pain. It never healed right... But I don't think about it poorly. It's just... part of me now.

  • As: I'm... glad? Sorry, I don't know what to say. I want to support you though! ...God, I wish I was half as charming as Gevyna. She can say something that sounds stupid, but in her mouth, it's witty and divine...

  • Ar: She seems popular.

  • As: Everyone loves her. She's always going to parties and such...

I stilled.

  • Ar: ...In the city?

  • As: Yeah, and she's--

  • Ar: No, wait.

I sat up.

  • As: Hm?

  • Ar: ...She was in the city on the night that Ymver was taken.

  • As: Yeah?

  • Ar: ...Ymver was taken INTO the city, Astaroh.

  • As: ...Oh no...

  • Ar: ...But Valeforr didn't say she was in the city... Valeforr just handed the investigation off to her.

  • As: ...Then we must get him to question Gevyna.

  • Ar: If he gives a damn...

  • As: I'm sure to you, he seemed like he didn't care. But he knows this could cause problems internationally too... He knows we don't want more enemies than necessary... surely... I... We have to talk to him.

They both looked dirty now.

  • Ar: Fine.

I stood to armor up.

  • As: ...He'll be getting ready for dinner now...

  • Ar: You're staying with me this time.

  • As: I will. I'll even hold him down for you. And keep his blood magic in check!

  • Ar: ...You're a good girl.

She blushed crimson and hugged me. Burying her face in my chest. I twirled her crimson hair. It was nice. It was nice, even though we were both pretending I wasn't me.

  • As: Mmmrph!

I laughed. Unlike Lucienne, I hadn't even needed to sleep with her to keep her on my side. Her brother was next. And whether he worked with me or not, Gevyna would follow.

14 views0 comments
bottom of page